From Doubt to Development: My Transformation into a Python Programmer

At the beginning of 2022, I felt overwhelmed with self-doubt and anxiety about my future prospects after completing my studies in mechanical engineering. Unemployment rates in my country are alarmingly high, and I couldn't shake the feeling of uncertainty about what opportunities would be available to me after graduation. This was a wake-up call for me, and I knew I had to take action to secure my future.

One path that really caught my attention was web development and programming. I had always been fascinated by technology, and I realized that learning how to code could open up a world of possibilities for me. I started doing some research on my own, just trying to get a taste of what the tech industry was all about. As I learned more, I became more and more convinced that this was something I was passionate about and wanted to pursue with all my heart.

Of course, learning how to code wasn't easy. I was already stretched thin with my studies and a part-time job, so finding the time and energy to focus on programming was a real challenge. But I was determined to make it work. Fortunately, something unexpected happened that ended up giving me the chance I needed: my university went on strike.

This strike ended up lasting for several months, and while it was frustrating to have my studies disrupted, it did give me a lot of extra time to focus on programming. I wasn't able to afford any paid boot camps, but I was able to apply for a number of free internships and other learning opportunities. This was the start of my journey as a developer, and I was thrilled to finally have the chance to dive in and learn.

After completing a few beginner-friendly internships, I decided to apply for financial aid on a more advanced course in backend programming using Python. I was lucky enough to get the aid I needed, and I was able to complete the course without having to worry about the cost. Just when I thought things were starting to fall into place, the university strike ended and I had to return to my academic commitments.

I had to put my programming pursuits on hold for a while, but I was determined to get back to it as soon as I could. And eventually, I did. Motivated by the Dev Retro 2022 contest, I chose to document my journey as a programmer and share it in the form of a reflective blog. Throughout this journey, I have met a lot of incredible people and joined a coding community that is full of brilliant and talented individuals. The support I've received from my friends and family has been truly mind-blowing. I'm so grateful to have started off on the right foot, and I'm excited to continue learning and growing as a developer.

#DevRetro2022